The Royal Chronicles

Author\’s commentary, Special Features, Outtakes, and Extras from Marilyn\’s Royal Blog

How hard can it be?

Posted by Marilyn on August 4, 2008

I can’t remember the last time I actually wrote a personal post on this blog but I don’t feel that I have anywhere else to vent about this, so here is my venting.

I’ve wanted to redesign Marilyn’s Royal Blog for a long time. The templates on Blogger are horrible. WP is better but they don’t allow ads or the ability to customize the blog. When I started MRB I didn’t think beyond just writing, I didn’t think of the way the blog looked. Now I almost can’t stand it.

I’ve been trying to find people to design custom blogs. I know what I want but geez, the prices are high. I don’t want to insult anyone’s qualifications, especially if someone is good at what they do, but how hard is it to find someone who can do a reasonable job for less than $500? Even less than $400 would be good.

True, you get what you pay for but I just find this tremendously frustrating. I’d love to do this myself but I can’t, I don’t have the technical expertise. Why is it that the features available in WP (like pages) are so expensive to do in Blogger? I don’t understand this at all.

3 Responses to “How hard can it be?”

  1. I had the same problem when I wanted to redesign “Mandy’s British Royalty”. I feel fairly competent in web design and enjoy it very much, but for once I wanted to focus more on my content while someone else did the designing.

    The catch? No one would redesign a website for less than $1000!

    What’s a broke royal historian to do? lol! That’s why my Grimaldi pages were put on hold for a long time. 😛

  2. Marilyn said

    Your sites look great, you’re very talented in website design. I took a webmaster course a long time ago and I don’t remember a thing! I’m thinking of switching Marilyn’s Royal Blog to a hosted WP because it at least has some of the features I’m looking for, namely pages. Still mulling it over though.

  3. I would definitely do WordPress. They have been very good in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

 
