The Royal Chronicles

Author\’s commentary, Special Features, Outtakes, and Extras from Marilyn\’s Royal Blog

Why lusting for fame and glory might be futile..

Posted by Marilyn on May 4, 2007

Ok, I have to get something off of my chest.

When I started Marilyn’s Royal Blog, I did it because I love royalty I also found that I loved writing too. Deep down inside I hoped that it would lead to something more than just blogging – that it could lead to writing for newspapers, magazines and maybe even the holy grail of all ambitions, Majesty Magazine.

I have had some close calls with getting wider notice – I’ve been interviewed for the Wall Street Journal, the LA Times and the Baltimore Sun. I’m not saying this to brag. It’s great and wonderful to have these publications contact me – very flattering. But I’m finding that it’s a waste of time. Because, despite being interviewed by these places, they’ve never used anything I’ve said! A few days ago I had a TV station in Toronto ask me to appear on a show to discuss the royal family. All things were a go and then they called to say they didn’t need me.

Why do I bother agreeing to these things? Why am I wasting my time? Am I a sucker for punishment?

Once again, back to obscurity I go!

Leave a Reply

 
