The Royal Chronicles

Author\’s commentary, Special Features, Outtakes, and Extras from Marilyn\’s Royal Blog

Clarence House has no sense of humour

Posted by Marilyn on April 2, 2007

Yes, it was an April Fools Day joke. And it was fun while it lasted.

When I posted the article announcing the engagement of Prince William and Kate Middleton, I couldn’t have even remotely predicted the reaction it would get.  The article was meant as a joke – not to get peoples hearts racing or to dash anyones hopes. I’ll admit, that had I seen something like this myself I would have been completely thrilled at first and then checked the official sites for the actual announcement.

Some people took it seriously and some people, when they saw the date, took it for what it was. Some people thought it was “funny”, some people didn’t. I can live with that. But when Clarence House and Kate Middleton’s lawyers contacted me… 😉

This blog got quite a bit of traffic from it – not the intention – but had I known it would do so I would have concentrated on writing better articles on this site instead of Marilyn’s Royal Blog!

If anything, the reaction shows that there are people who follow royalty as passionately as I do – or even more so. And how much people want a royal wedding. Next time Prince William’s engagement is announced, hopefully it won’t be a joke.

3 Responses to “Clarence House has no sense of humour”

  1. karmie Varya said

    I for one will NOT be happy if they get engaged!
    Kate, not to mention William with his latest antics, are NOT mature enough for marriage. And Kate Middleton is NOT good, let alone “perfect” princess material. She is just a whiny lazy social-climber who just wants a crown.
    The press as well as Miss Middleton and Mumsy need to get over themselves.

  2. Marilyn said

    I think that William and Kate have plenty of time and they shouldn’t rush into anything. Now,whether she’s “perfect princess material” or not, if Kate makes William happy then I am all for an engagement.

  3. mikke said

    loved your joke :))))))

Leave a Reply

 
